Home Equipping Leaders Asian American Raise Up Your Voice Against Racism

Raise Up Your Voice Against Racism

DATE: Tuesday, October 27, 2020
TIME: 5 p.m. PDT, 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EDT
PRESENTERS: Rev. Karen Yokota Love and Dr. Joyce del Rosario

Asian American Language Ministry Plan, the New Federation of Asian American United Methodists, and the General Board of Church and Society Present: Raise Up Your Voice Against Racism.

The purpose of these webinars is four-fold. First, the webinars will talk about the reasons why it is importance for the Asian Americans community to RAISE up our voices against racism and stand in solidarity with our Black and Brown brothers and sisters now and always. Secondly, the webinars will educate the audience about racism. The material will be presented from an Asian American perspective. Third, the webinars will dispel the myth that the issue of racism is a White and Black issue – it is not. There are many other communities of color that have suffered from the sting of racism. The Asian American community has not endured years of oppression that the African American community has suffered but our experiences of racism are nonetheless real. Finally, the webinars will teach the participants about four of the UMC Resolutions that speak to the issue of racism.

The first webinar will be on October 27 at 5 p.m. PDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EDT. Our panelist for the first webinar will be: Rev. Karen Yokota Love and Dr. Joyce del Rosario. Please visit here for more information.

Register Today!

Contact Us for Help

View staff by program area to ask for additional assistance.

Related